



## **Union County Sheriff Records Requests**

### What is a public record?

According to ORS 192.311, a public record includes "any writing that contains information relating to the conduct of the public's business, including but not limited to court records, mortgages, and deed records, prepared, owned, used or retained by a public body regardless of physical form or characteristics." It is important to note that Oregon Public Records Law does not require the County to create a public record where none exists. This is especially true when it comes to data found in computer systems.

## How do I request a copy of a Union County Sheriff's Office report?

To obtain a copy of a Union County Sheriff's Office report, please submit a completed Public Records Request Form. Be sure to include as much information as possible -- including the full names of the persons involved, incident date and location, and Sheriff's Office case number.

Please be aware that, for cases that are still under investigation or awaiting court proceedings, the report will not be releasable until the case has been closed or adjudicated. There are exemptions that may affect our ability to release a record or require more processing time to redact information that is not releasable. Various redactions could include medical information, statements that constitute an invasion of personal privacy, little-known techniques used by law enforcement, trade secrets, etc. (see ORS 192.345, 192.355).

For inquiries regarding records related to child abuse, the State of Oregon Department of Human Services is the authority that may release those records, under Oregon Revised Statutes 419B.035 (if the reports are subject to disclosure).

In some cases, a court order or subpoena is required for the disclosure of records.

\*\*If you are requesting a Call Log (aka CAD screen) or audio of a 911 call or audio of a call on a recorded line, you will need to request those from the La Grande Police Department.

## Are there any fees for obtaining a copy of a record?

Yes, fees vary depending on the type of request and how much time is required to produce it. A Records Specialist will determine the fees and notify you PRIOR to beginning work on the request. In many cases, payment will be required in advance before the Specialist will proceed with gathering the records requested.

The fees are as follows:

Report Search, Production and Redaction: \$35 per hour (under 15 minutes no charge-over 15 Minutes =  $\frac{1}{2}$  hour) plus cost of materials.

Case Reports-\$10.00 for first 5 pages, 25 ¢ per page thereafter

Photograph CD-\$25.00

Jail Records-\$10:00, (\$15 if 11 pages or more)

Records requests submitted via the mail must include payment of the non-refundable fee and a self-addressed stamped envelope if you wish the response to be sent by postal mail. Mailing fees may be assessed where appropriate. Records requests may also be submitted in person or via email, but will not be processed until payment is received.

# What if I still have questions?

If you have questions concerning reports, you may contact the Records Specialist at (541) 963-1017 ext 222 Monday — Thursday, 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM or via email at the address listed below.

### **Contact Information**

Union County Sheriff's Office 1109 K Avenue La Grande, OR 97850 Phone: (541) 963-1017 ext 222

Fax: (541) 963-1023

Email: UCSORecords@union-county.org